Sarahbrannen's Blog

updates from Sarah S. Brannen, children's author/illustrator

Coming Out Day

It’s October 11, National (and international) Coming Out Day.

Because I wrote a picture book about a same-sex wedding, Uncle Bobby’s Wedding, I’ve been asked a number of times, in interviews, whether I am a lesbian or in a same-sex relationship. I used to refuse to answer, out of solidarity with my gay friends. It seems so unfair that gay people get asked this question, and, whoever you are, it’s intrusive and nobody’s business!

However, my gay friends have asked me to start answering the question, so I’ve decided to come out as straight. There’s even a label I can put on: I’m an ally. We feel that it’s important to make it clear that there are straight people passionately committed to gay rights and marriage equality.

I’m not comfortable discussing my personal life in public and I don’t think anyone cares about it. However, I’ve taken a lot of heat for my book and read some very nasty things about it, and myself, in public forums. And I guess that really does make me an ally, because I’ve shared some of the unpleasant things that are a constant part of my gay friends’ lives.

I’ve shared wonderful things too, of course, and I’ve gotten wonderful letters from people, gay and straight, telling me how much my book means to them. It has most definitely been worth it.

And now I’ve shared another experience that I never expected to have, that of coming out in public!

So, happy October 11, everyone. I’m proud of all of you.

October 11, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Sarah, if you’re brave enough to come out as a straight ally, then by gummy so can I! Life is short enough, if some would circumscribe love and human nature that is their prerogative in THEIR life. But all people deserve to be happy and lead a healthy life, and to deny who one is is the most basic health issue there is. Having lost friends and family members to this issue, it makes me happy that we are finally in an age where the discussion has begun. And thank goodness for Uncle Bobby’s Wedding, it not only helped the ball to roll, but gave voice to a small child’s perspective on what family is all about. Thank you.

    Comment by Agy Wilson | October 13, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

